The Tater Top!

So, I made a hat for my niece Taytum (hence the name Tater Top) that I was really proud of.  It was only the second hat I’ve ever made and I completely winged the pattern.  I knit it in the round using Roman Stitch out of Barbara Walker’s “A Treasury of Knitting Patterns.  To top it off I used Helen’s Lace Lion and Lamb in Black Purl.

(side note: this may be the softest yarn I’ve ever knit with)

 Anyway….I gave the hat to my sister. The baby wore it for a week or two, when the babysitter decided to wash it.  Let’s just say my happy, cuddly soft little hat turned into a matted felted mess that doesn’t fit!

After an hour or so, I stopped crying and got to work on a new hat.

I made the same hat a little smaller to fit better, added garter stitch ear flaps with i-cord ties.  And finally, we held the baby down to take a picture.

 Taytum in her hat and mittens

Here’s a pic of the hat by itself.

The Tater Top

I made mittens to go with it.  Their based on the pattern  Wittle Itty Bitty Baby Mitties . http://kyra.typepad.com/knitmeister/2005/01/ 

Here’s a pic.  The i-cords are for attaching to the inside of her coat.  They can be removed for washing or to be attached to another coat.

Mittens

Leave a Reply

